Car insurance in California
Car insurance in California 2023
Minimum California Car insurance in California
Minimum bodily injury liability coverage of $15,000 for each person and $30,000 for each accident
Property damage liability coverage: $5,000 minimum
Minimum amounts for bodily injury coverage from uninsured drivers are $15,000 per person and $30,000 per accident.
Uninsured motorist property damage coverage¹: $3,500 minimum
While these are the minimum coverages California requires you to have, everyone's insurance needs are unique. For a tailored recommendation, use our coverage calculator.
California Car Insurance Laws for New Residents in Car insurance in California
If you're moving to the state, the California Driver Handbook is a good resource. The Department of Motor Vehicles issues it. It can provide you with guidance on registering your car, obtaining a California driver's license and important state rules of the road.
What is the California Deductible Waiver?
California Registration Information Car insurance in CaliforniaDepending on when you enter California, your car may need to be registered there. After the car entered California, fees must be paid within 20 days to avoid penalties. with Car insurance in California USA
You will need to Car insurance in California USA:
Fill out a Title or Registration Application (REG 343).
Submit your out-of-state registration certificate
Submit your out-of-state title (If you have it)
Provide evidence of the California Smog CertificationProvide an odometer mileage certification (If your vehicle is less than 10 years old)
You can check the vehicle identification number at a DMV office by bringing your car in. (For your convenience, we recommend that you schedule an appointment by calling your local DMV.)
Pay the fees
Commercial vehicles, including pickup trucks, may also require a weight certificate
Existing law imposes a use tax on a vehicle purchased outside of California and brought into California within 12 months of purchase. During the period of October 1, 2004, through July 1, 2006, new legislation mandates use tax payment on vehicles brought into California within 365 days of being acquired outside of the state. the purchase date.
What do I do if I get a California Intent to Suspend Registration letter?You can get a letter informing you that the state of California intends to revoke your car's registration if they are unable to verify that you have insurance on it. This may occur if the state of California doesn't have the proper VIN (Vehicle Identification Number) on record, if your insurance coverage for California (or another state) has expired, or if there was a mistake in the data the state of California received.
If the California DMV has notified you that giving evidence of insurance is sufficient, and you currently have a GEICO policy, you can quickly receive the paperwork on our GEICO website. Mobile app.
Get a quote right away if you don't already have a GEICO coverage and are curious about how much California auto insurance might cost.
Car Insurance Discounts in California
In California, motorists who meet specific requirements may earn at least a 20% discount on their auto insurance cost. Good drivers deserve a break. In California, a Good Driver is one who²:
possesses verified licence experience dating back at least three years;
has a current licence in the United States or Canada, which experience must be verifiable, and confirms that they have had a licence for the past 18 months in any country other than the United States or Canada;
hasn't racked up more than a single Department of Motor Vehicles point in the previous three years. A point is typically given for breaking a vehicle code or being "principally at-fault" in an accident3. If the driver was at fault in an accident, it must not have been fatal or seriously hurt them.
has not been convicted of any specified felonies or driving while intoxicated (drugs or alcohol) violations in the previous ten years4.
Car insurance in California
If you have any questions, contact a GEICO auto insurance agent.
California Good Student Discount
If a teen or young adult driver in California meets all of the requirements listed below, they may be eligible for the Good Student Discount:
possess no more than eight years of driving experience
are enrolled full-time in a high school, college, or university academic home study programme.
have a minimum GPA of B or its equivalent.
To find out how much you may save with a good student discount, request a quotation right away.
California Teen Driving Laws
If you're the parent of a teen who is getting close to the driving age, you and your teen should know that:
Teen drivers in California must complete driver education and acquire a provisional permit; they must be at least 1512 years old to do so.
Drivers in California must be 16 years old and hold a temporary permit for at least six months before they may apply for a licence.
After that, applicants must pass the driving test given by the DMV in order to be issued a provisional licence.
They can only drive between 5:01 am and 10:59 pm for the first 12 months of the provisional licence and only with passengers who are over 21. When that temporary period is up, they are given full driving rights.
For additional information on the laws and regulations governing teen drivers in California, contact your local DMV.
California Driving Resources
See how we're simplifying insurance in the app with features like 1-click bill payment, digital ID cards, access to roadside assistance, and more.
Download GEICO Mobile today. We make insurance easy.